Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, November 23, 2015

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed
Carolyn Price, PhD
Carolyn Price, PhD

Cancer Biology's Price Among 3 From UC

Awarded AAAS Fellow Distinction for 2015

Carolyn Price, PhD, a professor in the Department of Cancer Biology, has been named a 2015 fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). She is one of three UC researchers to be awarded the distinction of AAAS fellow this year; the others are Marc Cahay, PhD, College of Engineering and Applied Science, and David Lentz, PhD, McMicken College of Arts and Sciences.

Price’s lab focuses on the structure and function of telomeres, the DNA-protein complexes that cap the ends of chromosomes. A College of Medicine faculty member since 2000, she received her PhD from the University of Colorado Medical Center in 1985 and completed her postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Colorado at Boulder in 1988.

The AAAS has awarded the distinction of fellow to 347 of its members this year. Price and the additional new fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin Saturday, Feb. 13, at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2016 AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Kevin Joseph, MD
Kevin Joseph, MD
UC Health Simulation Center Opening
Jen Jackson, DNP
Tom Daskalakis
Tom Daskalakis

Leadership Restructuring at UC Health

UC Health is continuing to take steps toward creating a single, system-wide management structure. The academic health system has created a new position, senior vice president for inpatient services, reporting to Chief Operating Officer Pete Gilbert. The new senior vice president for inpatient services will oversee chief administrative officers (CAOs) at each UC Health hospital. The current CEO positions at UC Medical Center and West Chester Hospital will be eliminated. Each CAO will be accountable for day-to-day operations of the sites, bringing a system focus to each facility. These changes become effective Dec. 1:

  • Kevin Joseph, MD, currently president and CEO of West Chester Hospital, will become interim senior vice president for inpatient services.
  • Jen Jackson, DNP, vice president of patient care services and chief nursing officer at UC Medical Center, and Tom Daskalakis, vice president and chief operating officer for West Chester Hospital, will serve as interim CAOs of their respective facilities. Amy Schroyer will continue to lead Daniel Drake Center with the new title of CAO. Lee Ann Liska will be leaving her role at UC Medical Center, but will work actively through the end of the year to facilitate the transition to the new structure.


William Hurford, MD
William Hurford, MD

UCMC, West Chester Named to 2014 Top Performer List

University of Cincinnati Medical Center and West Chester Hospital were each named to the 2014 Top Performer on Key Quality Measures list by the Joint Commission, the major accreditor of U.S. health care programs. Only about one-third of Joint Commission-accredited hospitals earned 2014 Top Performer status, according to William Hurford, MD, chief medical officer, UC Health.

Both UC Health hospitals were recognized in the Joint Commission’s 2015 annual report, "America’s Hospitals: Improving Quality and Safety,” for attaining and sustaining excellence in accountability measure performance for heart attack, heart failure, pneumonia and surgical care.

"Recognition like this reinforces that we’re on the right track and serves as motivation for us to continuously improve,” Hurford said.

Cell Manipulation Laboratory
Research at UC

Applications Accepted for Collaborative Grant Program

Applications are now being accepted for the 2016 Strategic Collaborative Grant Program from the UC Office of Research. This program is designed to support and broaden strategic research efforts that involve a cross-disciplinary, cross-campus collaboration between UC faculty from a minimum of three different colleges inclusive of both East and West Campuses. In addition, the research activities must involve a minimum of three different disciplines (this may or may not involve three different departments).

The goal of this program is to establish, promote and enhance strong research teams that can produce competitive proposals to federal funding agencies for large, multi-million dollar interdisciplinary research opportunities.

>> Further details and deadline information

Edward Otten, MD
Edward Otten, MD

Otten Participates in World Airway Management Meeting

Edward "Mel” Otten, MD, professor of emergency medicine, participated in the first World Airway Management Meeting Nov. 12-14 in Dublin, Ireland. The Difficult Airway Society and the Society for Airway Management combined their annual scientific meetings to produce the conference.

Otten spoke on "Airway Issues on the Battlefield” and "Airway Disasters on the Battlefield,” and moderated a session on airway education.

U.S. News and World Report Best Hospitals
U.S. News and World Report

Join; Take U.S. News Survey

Board-certified physicians who claim their profile on by Tuesday, Dec. 1, 2015, are eligible to take the U.S. News & World Report "Best Hospitals Survey” in their designated specialty. is a physicians-only social media site and platform. Note that not all specialties are being surveyed at this time by U.S. News. To claim your profile, visit


Participate in 'Giving Tuesday' and Receive Ornament

This year, the University of Cincinnati will again participate in #GivingTuesday, a global day dedicated to giving back. The UC Foundation has designated a website ( for donations to the university on this day (Tuesday, Dec. 1). Those who make online gifts of $10 or more on #GivingTuesday will receive a limited edition 2015 UC ornament featuring the Bearcat mascot from 1947.

IvaDean Concert 2012
IvaDean Concert 

SAVE THE DATE: 12th Annual IvaDean Concert Jan. 8

The 12th annual IvaDean Medical Student Scholarship Concert will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, Jan. 8, in Kresge Auditorium. The night will include a silent auction starting at 5:30 to raise funds for scholarships.

Tickets are $5 for students/children under 12 and $15 for non-students, with the option to donate more. Call 513-558-5577 or see IvaDean Lair (Room G-260) for more information.


  • Physiology Seminar Nov. 24: Graduate students Lily Baek and Nina Bertaux-Skeirik will give presentations at 4 p.m. in MSB 4051.
  • ENT Grand Rounds Nov. 25: Chief residents will present "M&M” at 7 a.m. in MSB E-351.
  • Molecular, Cellular and Biomedical Pharmacology Graduate Seminar Series Nov. 25: Graduate students Matthew Couse and Rithvik Venna will give presentations at 11 a.m. in MSB 6051. 
  • Faculty Forum meeting Nov. 30: The November meeting will be at 4 p.m. in MSB 4051. (Note: There will be no December meeting.)

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >