Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Tuesday, May 31, 2016

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed
Andrew Filak, Jr., MD
Andrew Filak, Jr., MD

Filak Receives Leonard Award from the Association for Hospital Medical Education

Andrew Filak Jr., MD, senior associate dean for academic affairs, has received the John C. Leonard Award from the Association for Hospital Medical Education (AHME). The award is presented to an AHME member, or non-member, who has demonstrated exceptional dedication and leadership in the field of medical education, or who has a singular achievement in the field with particular emphasis on graduate and continuing education in medicine and its specialties.

The association noted that Filak’s "extraordinary contributions have enhanced the educational environments shaping the development of countless physicians and improved the lives of the patients for whom they will care throughout their careers.” Filak has been AHME president and chair of their Board of Trustees in addition to serving on several national medical education review and advisory committees.


Society of Toxicology Awards Best Paper to UC

Researchers from the Department of Environmental Health, Center for Environmental Genetics and the Department of Internal Medicine, Cardiology Division, were awarded first place for Best Publication of the Year in 2015 by the Society of Toxicology. Authors on the paper, "Ah Receptor Signaling Controls the Expression of Cardiac Development and Homeostasis Genes” include Vinicius Carreira, PhD; Yunxia Fan, PhD; Qing Wang, PhD; Xiang Zhang, PhD; Hisaka Kurita, PhD; Chia-I Ko, PhD; Mindi Naticchioni; Min Jiang, PhD; Sheryl Koch, PhD; Mario Medvedovic, PhD; Ying, Xia, PhD; Jack Rubinstein, MD; and Alvaro Puga, PhD. The paper was published in the journal Toxicology Science in October 2015.

0047 PAT


Care Delivery Innovation Competition

UC Health and the UC Academic Health Center are pleased to announce the second annual Care Delivery Innovation Competition. The purpose of this competition is to showcase successes in care delivery innovation and to drive, recognize and reward novel ideas throughout the academic health system in alignment with our mutual commitment to advancing education, research and clinical care. Winning proposals will be those that clearly demonstrate engagement with patients in a way that encourages two-way communication and enhances the provision of care through increased efficiency, improved quality and/or enhanced access.

A total sum of $30,000 will be awarded to each of the top two proposal teams, as determined by a panel of judges following a competition event. *Funding is allocated for program use only and cannot be used for salary support.

Interested teams to submit Competition Entry Form to by July 1, 2016.

July 15: Teams chosen to move forward to submit competition proposals.

Sept. 30: Full proposals must be submitted electronically by 5 p.m. to

Oct. 14: Notification to finalists of their acceptance into competition event.

Nov. 17: Competition event, selection by judges and winners announced.

UC Medical Center
UC Medical Center

Interprofessional Grand Rounds June 6

All health care professionals and UC students and faculty from the colleges of medicine, nursing, pharmacy and allied health sciences are encouraged to attend Interprofessional Grand Rounds at noon, Monday, June 6, in the UC Medical Center's Center for Professional Growth and Innovative Practice, in the main hospital first floor, Room 1457A.

This CE activity has been approved for 1 contact hours by the Ohio Board of Nursing through the OBN Approver Unit at UC Health. (OBN-007-92)

For additional Information contact Jessica Hill, program manager, College of Nursing, at

Cell Manipulation Laboratory

College of Medicine Research Innovation Seed Grants

Applications are open to apply for the College of Medicine Seed grants, a program derived from the Dean’s Office of Research. It is anticipated that up to 5 awards not to exceed $30,000 will be awarded. Applications are due Wednesday, June 8, with notification of funding June 25.   

For more information contact at 558-7564.

Ohio Healthy Homes Network
Ohio Healthy Homes Network

UC Helps Host 2016 Spring Healthy Homes Forum

The Ohio Healthy Homes Network, along with the UC Center for Environmental Genetics, Community Outreach and Engagement Core (COEC) and the Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training (CCTST), are hosting the annual Spring Healthy Homes Forum in Cincinnati at the Mayerson Academy from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., June 9. The theme for this year’s forum is Reducing Lead, Mold, Asthma Triggers and Poor Indoor Air Quality in Ohio's Housing. Five Department of Environmental Health faculty members will be speaking at the forum: Kim Dietrich, PhD; Erin Haynes, DrPh; Nicholas Newman, DO; Tiina Reponen, PhD; and Patrick Ryan, PhD. 

>> Registration

Medical Sciences Building

Research Service Award Deadline June 17

The College of Medicine Office of Research is soliciting nominations for a Faculty Research Service Award. The award will be presented to the faculty member, nominated by their department chair, who in the opinion of the Research Cabinet has provided exceptional service to the College of Medicine.

To be considered, the nominating department chair must submit a one page letter of recommendation. The letter should highlight in what capacities the nominee has served the college and how he or she demonstrates an outstanding commitment to the college deserving of special recognition. Specifically, the letter should describe the kinds of service (committees, review boards etc.), the duration of service, and any leadership roles in service. A curriculum vitae must also be submitted with both current and past intramural service highlighted.

The recipient of this award will be recognized in the College of Medicine Research Annual Report and honored with a plaque and an honorarium of $1,500 at the annual Research Recognition event on June 29.

Nominations should be submitted by June 17 as one pdf document to Brieanne Sheehan at Questions should be sent to Brieanne Sheehan at or by calling 558-7564.  


  • Transplant Grand Rounds May 31: Six UC faculty members are presenting beginning at 4 p.m. in MSB 3351.
  • Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Grand Rounds June 1: John Kitzmiller, MD, will present "Reconstruction of the Head and Neck After Burns” at 7 a.m. in MSB 3351.
  • Medical Grand Rounds June 1: Thomas DiSalvo, MD, Medical University of South Carolina, will present "Long Non Coding RNA in Myocardial Biology” at noon in MSB 5051.
  • CCTST Global Bioethics Seminar on Zika Virus June 2: Tasha Stehling-Ariza, PhD, Center for Disease Control Atlanta, will present "Fighting the Zika Virus: The Porous Boundaries Between Global and Domestic Health” from noon to 2 p.m. in MSB E-351.
  • UC Heart, Lung and Vascular Institute Seminar Series June 10: Russell Tracy, PhD, University of Vermont College of Medicine, will present "Development of Biomarkers for Inflammation and Adaptive Immunity: the Role of Population Science” at 9 a.m. in MSB E-351. 
  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >