Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, May 22, 2017

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed
Joseph Cheng, MD
Joseph Cheng, MD

Joseph Cheng, MD, Appointed Professor, Chair of UC Department of Neurosurgery

Joseph Cheng, MD, professor and vice chair of neurosurgery at the Yale School of Medicine, has been named professor and chair of the Department of Neurosurgery and will lead all neurosurgery activities at UC Health effective July 1, pending approval by the UC Board of Trustees.

Cheng joined the Yale faculty in 2016 where he also directs the Neurosurgery Spine Fellowship. Prior to that, he was a faculty member between 2002 and 2015 in neurosurgery at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, where he also served as director of Vanderbilt’s Neurosurgery Spine Program. Additionally, he served on the faculty at the Medical College of Wisconsin from 2001 to 2002.

Cheng was an American Association of Neurological Surgeons Health Policy Scholar in 2011. That same year he received the AOSpine North American Educator of the Year Award. In 2013, he received the Vanderbilt Distinguished Neurosurgical Educator of the Year Award.

Mario Zuccarello, MD, who has served as chair of the department since June 1, 2010, will return to faculty as professor of neurosurgery.

>> Read more

Kenneth Davis, MD
Kenneth Davis Jr., MD

George Deepe, Jr. PhD
George Deepe Jr., MD

Shuk-mei Ho, PhD
Shuk-Mei Ho, PhD

Elizabeth Shpall, MD
Elizabeth Shpall, MD

College of Medicine Honors Four With Drake Medals

The UC College of Medicine on Saturday, May 20, presented four noted researchers and clinicians with the college’s highest honor, the Daniel Drake Medal.

Drake Medal recipients for 2017 are:

  • Kenneth Davis Jr., MD, UC professor of surgery and clinical anesthesiology;
  • George Deepe Jr., MD, UC College of Medicine Class of 1976 and UC professor of internal medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases;
  • Shuk-Mei Ho, PhD, Jacob G. Schmidlapp Professor and Chair of the UC Department of Environmental Health; and
  • Elizabeth Shpall, MD, UC College of Medicine Class of 1980.

The Daniel Drake Medal is given annually to living faculty or alumni for their outstanding and unique contributions to medical education, scholarship and research. The award was established in 1985 to honor the 200th birthday of Daniel Drake, MD, the founder of the Medical College of Ohio, the forerunner of the UC College of Medicine. Drake was one of the most influential physicians, educators and scientists of 19th century America. The recipients’ names, along with biographies and photos, have been added to the Daniel Drake Medal exhibit in the Medical Sciences Building.

>> Read about the Drake winners

Findlay Market
Findlay Market Pop-up

Findlay Market Pop-up at CARE/Crawley May 25 

Merchants from Cincinnati’s Findlay Market will set up shop from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., Thursday, May 25, in the CARE/Crawley Kaplan Reception Area. Fresh produce, locally made items and ready-to-eat foods will be available for purchase. Most vendors will be set up to accept cash and credit cards. This event is coordinated by the UC Center for Integrative Health and Wellness. For more information, contact Kelly Lyle.

UC’s Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training (CCTST) is a major research resource at the UC Academic Health Center.

CCTST Regulatory Forum May 25 on Single IRBs

"Single Institutional Review Boards (IRBs) for Multisite Studies: Costs to Consider” is the topic of the next CCTST Regulatory Forum being held from 9-11 a.m. in MSB 2351. 
Panelists will discuss the NIH mandate for single IRBs, options in budget preparation, allowable costs and the use of an independent, non-academic, single IRB.
Session moderator is Mike Linke, PhD, Health Science Officer, Cincinnati Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center and Chair, UC IRB.
Additional panelists include:

  • Judith Spilker, administrative director, StrokeNet National Coordinating Center
  • Patrick Clark, director, Government Cost Compliance, UC
  • Eli Alford, COO, Schulman and Associates IRB
Registration is not required.  
>> More information

John Maggio
John Maggio, PhD

Reminder: Memorial Service for Dr. John Maggio May 26

Colleagues, family and friends of John Maggio, PhD, are invited to a memorial service celebrating his life and achievements at 3 p.m. Friday, May 26, in the Rieveschl Auditorium at the Vontz Center for Molecular Studies. Maggio, chair of pharmacology and cell biophysics from 1997 until 2007, passed away April 15 at age 64. He also was the Flor van Maanen Professor of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics until his death. A reception in the Vontz Center will follow the service.


  • Department of Molecular Genetics, Biochemistry and Microbiology Weekly Seminar Series May 23: Jason McCoy, PhD candidate, will present "Inhibition Strategies of Growth Differentiation Factor 8 (GDF8)” at noon in MSB 2351.
  • Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Seminar May 24: Amy Dorrington, IT-Epic Ambulatory Manager, will present "Patient Engagement Through My Chart” at 7 a.m. in MSB E-351.
  • Medical Grand Rounds May 24: Richard Becker, MD, director of the UC Heart, Lung and Vascular Institute, will present "What’s New in Cardiology: Honoring the Legacy of Johnson McGuire” at noon in MSB 7051.
  • Biomedical Informatics Hutton Lecture Series May 26: Brian Connolly, PhD, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, will present "Quantitative Assessments of Mental Health Using Mobile Technology” at 11 a.m. in Cincinnati Children’s Location S, Room S10.130.
  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >